Farmacy

Just got back from the farmer’s market. I bought a few things that are different for me. Turnips, spaghetti squash, poblano peppers. And fresh pears! You may think I’m nuts being excited about pears, but these are just off the tree – they are water-crisp! I didn’t know pears could taste this good. Apples, too, from their local orchard of apple trees. Ten different kinds of apples at the stand this morning. Back in the summer I bought Opalessence apples from them – if you ever find them you have to try them.

It’s the last day of the farmer’s market season for me. So sad.

On a happier note, isn’t it great that sometimes just a tweak to our diet can bring health where there was pain and discomfort? I’m just grateful for that today. 🙂 I injured my knees recently and had to take a break from hiking, and it reminded me of all these years I had knee pain before I realized I was gluten-sensitive. And it’s been such a relatively easy transition. Crazy, but I actually enjoy the challenge of some limitations to my diet. How boring it would be if I could eat everything and anything. And I love helping friends and family find good food to eat that benefits their bodies. So I hope this blog can do that for you!

Worth thinking about…

Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food. ~Hippocrates

https://i0.wp.com/4.bp.blogspot.com/-mz_ti_m_iEE/TVvxzj_ESaI/AAAAAAAAFR4/O4S09oxla-w/s1600/bz%2B02-08-11%2BFARMACY.jpg

Enjoy your weekend!

3 thoughts on “Farmacy

  1. I just got a spaghetti squash too and was wondering how you are going to prepare it? I was thinking of doing it without tomato sauce, any ideas? I have served it before with just our homemade organic butter and sea salt but thought I’d like to try something more interesting 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment