Maple Pecan Pie

This is what got me in trouble this Thanksgiving. I had at least one piece every day until it was gone!

My usual strategy for eating healthy/keeping my weight stable on Thanksgiving is:

1. To eat somewhere else. šŸ™‚
2. If I’m going to host, to send all the treats home with the guests.

I couldn’t do that this time, because not only was I hosting, but my kids, their husbands, and my grandchild were all staying here with us and would be eating all that food for days!

Sigh, I have no willpower. None.

The good thing is, since Monday, I’ve been back to my usual healthy, more lean way of eating. My pants should be back to loose in no time.

Maple Pecan Pie

For the crust, I used the King Arthur Flour recipe for Gluten-Free Pie Crust with a few changes. I made half of their suggested flour mix: Combine 3 cups (16 ounces) brown rice flour, 1 cup (5.5 ounces) potato starch, and 1/2 cup (2 ounces) tapioca starch in lidded container. Mix well. Use as flour mix for gluten-free pie crust. This makes 4 single pie crusts.

(If you use a frozen pie crust, by the time the oven is preheated, this pie can be ready to go into the oven.)

Make one pie crust:

1 1/4 cups or 5 3/4 ounces flour mix
2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
3/4 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons cold butter
1 large egg
2 teaspoons lemon juice

1. Whisk together flour mix, sugar, xanthan gum and salt in large bowl. Pour out into a mound onto a large board or counter for rolling.

2. Cube cold butter – cut bar into 4 long sticks, then cut into cubes. Sprinkle cubes over flour mound tossing to coat all cubes. Using a rolling pin, start rolling cubes into flour. Keep tossing flour and cubes to rearrange while repeatedly rolling them flat. Using bench scraper, scrape mixture back up and deposit back into large bowl.

3. Whisk egg and lemon juice together in a small bowl until foamy. Sprinkle over flour/butter mixture in bowl. Stir with spoon until mixture holds together. You can add 1 or 2 more tablespoons of cold water if necessary. (I added one.) Shape into a disc, wrap in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for at least one hour or until the next day.

4. When ready to use, allow the dough to rest at room temperature for a few minutes before rolling. Roll out on a floured piece of parchment paper until diameter is 1 inch large than pie pan. Slide bench scraper under dough to make sure it’s not sticking. Invert paper and crust onto pie pan. Peel off paper. (Or you could do what I did, and just center rolling pin on pie crust, fold crust over top of rolling pin, then lift it all onto pie pan and unfold.) Flute edges.

I dare anyone to guess that this crust is not made with regular all-purpose flour. It was flaky, tender, had really good flavor and was not difficult to work with at all.

Maple Pecan Filling

2 cups pecan halves

4 eggs
1 cup pure maple syrup
1 cup evaporated milk
1/4 cup butter, melted
2 teaspoons lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons gluten-free flour mix (recipe above)

1.Ā Arrange pecan halves in prepared pie crust. (This gives a beautiful presentation, but I like to break mine up because it makes for easier cutting of pie pieces later.)

2. Blend remaining ingredients in blender or in bowl with stick blender.

3. Pour over pecans in prepared pie crust. Gently press all pecans to submerge under liquid.

4. Bake in 375 degree oven for 30-40 minutes. Let cool before serving.

I make this pie once a year – if you try it, you’ll see why. šŸ˜‰

If you like maple and pecan together, you might want to try:

Vegan Maple Pecan Pie Smoothie

Maple Pecan Bites

Maple Pecan Pie Bars (vegan)

Leave a comment