Moroccan Chick Peas and Rice – Quick and Easy

I was looking through cookbooks the other day for something to make for dinner.  I’ve gotten a lot of ideas from this book. He uses all real food ingredients, and his use of legumes is creative. I found a recipe that I used for inspiration, because I don’t know about you, but I seem to be allergic to following a recipe exactly as written!

I prefer the taste of home-cooked beans over canned, so I usually have a stock of them in my freezer. Once in a while, I’ll have a food factory day at home and cook many types of them and pack them into jars or freezer bags (2 c in each) so they’re ready to be used.

I whipped this together pretty quickly, added a green salad and some just-picked corn-on-the-cob that had been given to us be a sweet neighbor, and dinner was ready. I love the blend of savory and sweet, cinnamon and cumin. It was hearty, yet loaded with light vegetables. And so easy! I will definitely make this again!

Moroccan Chick Peas and Rice

2 T extra virgin olive oil
1/2 large sweet onion, chopped
1 large rib celery, chopped
1 carrot, diced
3/4 t cumin seeds
1/2 t cinnamon
1/2 yellow zucchini, chopped
1/2 green zucchini, chopped
1 c cooked chick peas
2 c cooked brown rice
2 T fresh cilantro, chopped
1/3 c raisins
1/4 c sliced almonds for garnish

1. Saute onion, celery, carrot and cumin seeds in oil about 5 minutes.

2. Add cinnamon, zucchini, and chick peas and saute for another 5 minutes.

3. Finally, add hot brown rice, cilantro and raisins, stir well, and warm through.

4. Top with sliced almonds for crunch!

4 thoughts on “Moroccan Chick Peas and Rice – Quick and Easy

  1. Thanks so much! As for printing, I’m sorry but the only way at this point is to copy and paste onto a document. I just tried it and it works. You just have to delete the picture from the document, if you want to. I have to look into putting some kind of “print version” thing on the blog. All this is new to me – just stumbling through – but enjoying the process! Hope you like the dish!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Pass The Chick “Peas” Please! | Lil' Suburban Homestead

Leave a Reply

